• Professor Tina Acuña Conference Chair | University of Tasmania


We are delighted to welcome you to Hobart for the first-ever Australian Conference on Science and Mathematics Education (ACSME) being held in Tasmania!

The conference is being held in person and online with a very topical theme: The changing climate of science education.

The theme alludes to the rapidly changing environment in which educators from all STEM disciplines operate, with the disruption caused by the pandemic exacerbated by rapid technological change. While this has provided many benefits, there are also new challenges including academic integrity, equity and the rise of generative artificial intelligence and its impact on our students and teaching practices. The theme also alludes to the role of STEM educators in building knowledge and capacity about climate change and sustainability more broadly.

The conference theme resonated with the organising committee, given that the University of Tasmania had been named number one in the world in 2022 – recently for the second year in a row - in the Times Higher Education (THE) Impact Rankings for Sustainable Development Goal number 13: Climate Action.

Some of the actions that propelled the University of Tasmania to the top spot for Climate Action include our certified carbon-neutral status, focus on sustainability education, achieving full divestment from fossil fuels and world-class research on climate action.

Hosting ACSME in Tasmania has also provided a fantastic opportunity to launch the refreshed Threshold Learning Outcomes for Science at the university that is home to the Science Discipline Scholars, Emerita Professor Susan Jones, and Emeritus Professor Brian Yates.

I thank the organising committee for their commitment and enthusiasm, including Susan Jones, Johnny Fei, Jo-Anne Kelder, Stuart Corney, Susan Turland and Ryan Brunton. A special thanks to Fiona Taylor, who has organised much of the behind-the-scenes logistics that a good conference relies on with help from Tracy Kostiuk. Joanne Castelli had such a great time chairing the program for the 2022 conference that she came back and helped our small team with the first cut of the program, for which we are grateful.

I would also like to thank Susan Howitt from the ACDS for her support and advice to ensure continuity in the conference organisation. We are grateful to Ana Lopes for managing the reviewing process and the production of the proceedings, and to Glenda Key for providing us all with highly professional executive support.

If you have time, I encourage you to enjoy the spectacular environs, friendly people and delicious food and beverages from this very special island of Tasmania while you are here – or at least plan to come back!

Professor Tina Botwright Acuña

Conference Chair

The Australian Conference on Science and Mathematics Education 2023