About the Journal

Focus and Scope

This journal publishes the proceedings of the 2022 International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) International Conference on Physics Education.

The IUPAP, established in 1922, proudly celebrates its centenary with 60 Member countries. IUPAP’s mission is to “To assist in the worldwide development of physics, to foster international cooperation in physics, and to help in the application of physics toward solving problems of concern to humanity.”  IUPAP coordinates international efforts in the different branches of science through 20 Commissions as well as a range of Affiliated Commissions and Working Groups.

The International Commission on Physics Education was created by a group of physicists in the late 1950s followed by a conference in 1960. A request submitted to IUPAP for an education related commission was granted before the end of the year.  The Commission on Physics Education is officially Commission C14: Physics Education under the umbrella of IUPAP.  The flagship conference of Commission C14 is the International Conference on Physics Education, ICPE.

ICPE 2022 follows the IUPAP policy on conferences. You can find the full policy at the following link: https://iupap.org/conferences/conference-policies/


Join us online 5-9 December 2022 for engaging discussions and presentations about the future of physics education. The sudden changes to education brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic and their implications for the future will be forefront. Discussions will encompass university-level and school-level physics education.




Modes of delivery: What lessons have been learnt from COVID-19? Which experiences can be successfully transferred online and which need to remain face-to-face? Which technologies are promising for learning in the future?

Physics in universities and schools: How do we design curricula and assessment to meet diverse student needs as well as diversity in the classroom? How do we blend experiments/practical work, problem solving, teacher-directed instruction, student-centered learning and other activities and pedagogical approaches to better prepare students for their future? What are some successful strategies and innovations that keep students engaged throughout their learning journey?

Physics outreach: How do we measure the effectiveness of outreach programs? Do you have examples of successful outreach programs? How have you engaged parents and the community in these programs? What are the benefits of online outreach events?

Workforce and professional development: How is the balance between teaching/research, teaching specialist, casual teaching staff and educational developer roles changing? How do we empower the workforce? Can we address the shortage of physics trained teachers through pre-service and in-service physics teacher education?

Research in physics education: What methods and strategies do you use to address issues and innovate in physics education? How do we motivate and engage students? What are some STEM learning model systems to promote creative and critical thinking among students?

Specific topics: Astronomy, mechanics, quantum mechanics, electromagnetism, history and philosophy of physics etc.

Host country workshops: The three host countries, Australia and Thailand will hold workshops in their own language around themes of interest to the physics education community.


Visit the ICPE 2022 Conference Website to learn more about our Keynote Speakers, important dates, and for registration details.


*The submission portal experienced some technical issues due to a software update around the initial close date. These have now been resolved.

Abstract Submission Guidelines


Peer Review Process

The ICPE 2022 will be accepting abstracts for presentations and posters. Submitted abstracts will be reviewed by members of the ICPE 2022 Organising and Program Committees.

Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

The Proceedings of the International Conference on Physics Education (ICPE2022) will be published Open Access, hosted by The University of Sydney, and upon publication will be free to download in perpetuity.