• Elizabeth Angstmann Conference Chair, IUPAP International Conference on Physics Education 2022


Welcome to the International Conference on Physics Education for 2022. With the increased rate of change to how education is delivered, due to sudden shifts to a heavy reliance on online teaching, we decided to make the theme of this conference “Preparing for the Future”. We hope that over the week you have a chance to be inspired by the practice of others, reflect on what works (and does not work) in physics teaching, and have meaningful discussions with colleagues from around the world.

The International Conference on Physics Education is the flagship conference of IUPAP commission 14, Physics Education. As such it is governed by IUPAP’s conference policies which you can find here: https://iupap.org/conferences/conference-policies/. This year the conference is being hosted from Australia with satellite hosts in Thailand and Indonesia. A big thankyou to IUPAP for providing funding for this conference.

I encourage you to actively participate in this conference. We have designed it to be as inclusive as possible. We chose an online conference as it allowed us to keep fees very low and offer scholarships to encourage participation from delegates all around the world. We also knew that Australia would be a long way for many of you to travel, and thought that the travel expenses would be prohibitive. We have designed the conference to cater to university level physics educators, high school physics teachers and people teaching high school teachers. The interactive workshops will be a highlight of the conference, along with exciting plenary and keynote talks, panels and contributed talks and posters. The talks and panels will all be recorded and available for watching asynchronously during the conference as we know the time differences can be hard to manage in some locations.

I am very grateful to the committee members, many of whom have gone above and beyond to bring this conference together. Thanks to the members of all the committees: Organising committee, Program committee, technical committee and the International committee. A special thankyou to Manju Sharma, Jacinta den Besten, Thomas Dixon, Ana Lopes, Pornrat Wattanakasiwich, Angela Fösel for all their hard work and to my co-chairs Jiradawan Huntula and Aris Doyan.

I hope that you find this conference interesting and enjoyable and that you get at least a few good ideas that you can implement in your own teaching or research practice.


Professor Elizabeth Angstmann

Conference Chair

The IUPAP International Conference on Physics Education